Rebecca Cox Photography

For this supplier profile, we interviewed talented wedding photographer, Rebecca Cox..

 

Hi Rebecca, thank you for being agreeing to be featured in our blog!

No, thank you! I’m always looking for ways to raise my profile.

We absolutely adore your photographs here at Oh So Perfect. Could you tell us a little bit more about your style?

I like to adapt my style to suit the occasion. Having said that, my style is very relaxed so I prefer to work on a wedding where the bride and groom are after more natural pictures of their day, rather than the more formal, posed style.

Would be say you’re photographs show like a story book of their day?

Yes, I tend to appeal to couples who are setting out to have a fun day and want their photos to reflect that.

How would you describe Rebecca Cox Photography in three words? 

Creative    Indiviual   Relaxed

Tell us a little bit more about your service, where are you based?

I am based in Coleford in the Forest of Dean but I cover Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, South Wales. I’m happy to travel anywhere on request, as long as I can get back home within 3 hours.

That’s quite flexible! What do you think makes you stand out from other photographers working in your area?

I think I put people at ease when they meet me.

That’s very important, we always try to help our couples find a photographer who they feel they can trust and relax with, as it will show in their photographs if they’re nervous!

Absolutely, and I also have a good “eye” for photography – my pictures are good! [Laughs]  How big-headed does that sound?! On the other hand you must have confidence in what you do!

Confidence must come with experience, how long have you been taking photographs?

My Dad gave me a camera when I was 8. Not an instamatic, one you had to use a light meter with, and he taught me how to use it. It was love at first click!

Have you had professional training too?

I did go to college to study photography, but I had a dreadful wanderlust, and I dropped out to become an airline stewardess (non PC term, I know, but thats what we were in those days!) However, I never stopped taking photos and learning as I went. So you could call me self taught.

You talk quite openly about your dyslexia, do you feel dyslexia has hindered your training as a photographer in any way?

Quite the opposite! I think the real talent for photography isn’t something you can learn in school. A photographer needs to see the world through different eyes to everyone else and this is where I think that my dyslexia kicks in.

You’ve been running Rebecca Cox photography since 2004, what attracts you to photographing weddings in particular?

I really love doing weddings – how wonderful, to be a part of such a special day for! I was very nervous about my first wedding but I got through it! I still get nerves before a wedding, but I think that is healthy, it keeps me on my toes!

Are there any weddings you have worked on which you have particularly enjoyed more than most?

I have enjoyed nearly all the weddings I have done, because there is always something different. I worked on one wedding with a great 30s themed wedding, and I had one in Gloucester Cathedral, which was amazing. But then I’ve had village hall weddings where everything was home made or second hand and they have been such fun.

Do you have any special advice for the couples you work with?

Yes, everyone goes on about it being the bride’s special day, but I make an effort to include the groom. Its his special day too!

It is! It’s been a pleasure meeting you, Rebecca, where can our couples catch you next?

My next wedding fair is at The Speech House in Gloucestershire March. But I’m always happy to sit with couples for a chat about their wedding plans, just get in touch!

www.rebeccacox.co.uk

rebecca@rebeccacox.co.uk

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love this interview, it’s really insightful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

