Nick Murray Photography

At Oh So Perfect we absolutely adore meeting and interviewing all the lovely wedding suppliers we feature on our blog – but it’s not often we find someone as full of character, charisma and charm as professional wedding and lifestyle photographer, Nick Murray.

It gives us the greatest pleasure to introduce to you one of the most creative and inspirational photographers in Wales – if not the UK! – we’ll let his words and pictures speak for themselves…

I’m an ‘all day’ photographer. I’m there for as long as the couples want me there. I’m not the kind of photographer to shoot off as soon as the guests sit down for a meal, or charge hundreds of pounds for every hour after a set time. This is my art, and I’m not a weekend warrior trying to make a few extra quid. I care how my work is presented and do everything I can to make the couple’s images as cool as possible. If I’m not proud of them, they don’t see them.

My love of photography makes the wedding industry a no-brainer. It’s such a rich pool of work, you’re never just shooting ‘a wedding.’

I love all my weddings, naturally, although one in particular recently stands out for me. The couple were so much fun, had total faith in my ideas, and would literally do everything I suggested with such enthusiasm, that it made the shoot an absolute joy. We shot the wedding in the Brecon Beacons which is one of the most stunning places to shoot in the whole of Wales, if not the UK. The light was perfect, it was warm, hazy sunshine, and the fun we had really shows up in their photographs. They were so pleased they even came back to me after the wedding to upgrade their package, so they could have more photos of the day. They phoned me to tell me their wedding album was beautiful, made them both (!) cry, and their living room was covered in my photographs. This is why I love my job.


I’m lucky enough to come from a very creative background and love the diversity of ideas that spring up in todays weddings. There’s so many awesome couples trying out new concepts on their big day, it’s refreshing for them to keep you on top of your game. Without being a ‘jack of all trades’ it’s important to keep in mind that every client is different, and expect something unique and particular to them. Vintage, contemporary, alternative & traditional all excite and inspire me. If a client really wants something, I go above and beyond to research it for them.

My wedding business is a few years old, but I’ve been shooting photographs for as long as I can remember. Really, since I was a kid. I’m based in Newport, South Wales, with my main area being here, Cardiff, Bridgend and Swansea but I shoot all over the UK. I’m lucky enough this year to be asked to shoot a wedding in Cyprus. I’ve also shot as far as Canada and Japan. The Japanese wedding was cool. 14 courses of Sushi!

I appeal to cool couples that love creativity, and hate the idea of the photographer running the day. That’s not what it’s about.

I’ve been shooting ever since my dad gave me my first camera as a kid. A little 35mm that I used to carry around everywhere.

I’m mainly self taught, but I do have a degree and Masters degree in Film and Photography, which kind of helps, ha ha! I also worked in film and television production after university,  so everything you see is the culmination of years of being in the creative industries.

I’ve won awards through the SWPP and I’m regularly in Voice magazine. The guys there are great to me, and really love my work.

I recently got married myself, so I know what a minefield organising a wedding can be like. Colours, cars, cakes, dresses, music, favours and photographers; the list is huge! Book guys like me as early as you can, or get the guys at ‘Oh So Perfect’ to have the headache for you. It sounds obvious, but with so much to think of, it’s easy to let the bigger things slip your mind.

Wedding planners do this day in, day out. You want to enjoy the build up, not look frazzled walking down the aisle. I wish ‘Oh So Perfect’ were around when I got married!

To view Nick’s full photography gallery, and get in touch with the man himself,  visit the website www.nickmurrayphotography.co.uk

 

Need help planning your wedding day? Visit www.ohsoperfect.co.uk for our full list of wedding planning and coordination services and packages.

We’re giving away a Fortnum and Mason Champagne and Chocolates hamper to all couples booking selected services with us before 31st March 2012! To view this fabulous offer click here

Would you like to be featured as a recommended supplier? Contact Oh So Perfect – Weddings and Events on enquiries@ohsoperfect.co.uk

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

